Instagram is simple social media app, and it is kind of unique. You can block users differently than most social media app. Here’s how to block someone on Instagram in ways you probably didn’t know.
There are many things you can use on Instagram, but there are also many things you can block so that they can’t use those things to contact you anymore. Now, you might be wondering, how can you block someone on Instagram?
Well, Instagram has story, and you can block someone from seeing your story. It also has post feature, and you can block others from seeing your post. You can also block them from DM-ing you (sending you direct messages), blocking without unfollowing them, blocking comments, followers, and even yourself.
This tutorial will explain in details on blocking users in 8 different ways and what happens after you do that kind of blocking.
Who to Block on Instagram and Why
The first thing people asked me about blocking, is that “who?”. Well, the answer is obvious: you can block anyone on Instagram for many different reasons. It’s up to you and that’s fine.
However, most Instagram users will block someone if that person:
- spamming you through DM, comment, story, and tagging
- insulting or posting inappropriate things about you
- and other reasons
If there are other reasons you might want to block someone that may violate Instagram policies, you can also report them to Instagram.
Here’s how to do that:
Open Instagram app. To to the profile you want to block. Tap the kebab button at the top. Now, tap Report.
Now, select the reason you report that account.
RELATED POST: How to Upload on Instagram from PC
How to Block Someone on Instagram Forever
You can block someone on Instagram permanently. This feature doesn’t let others know that you’ve blocked them. You can block anyone without them knowing, unlike Twitter.
This will stop any interaction between you and the person you block. They can’t see your post, your story, sending you DM, and more. Blocking this way also will unfollow them.
Yes, you can block someone who already blocked you in the past. This blocking takes 10 seconds to do on Instagram.
To that, just open their Instagram profile which you want to block. Now tap the kebab button at the top. Tap Block.
Instagram will ask you to confirm. Tap Block to confirm blocking the person.
That’s it. You’ve blocked someone on Instagram. What’s next?
What Happens When You Block Someone on Instagram
According to Instagram, here’s what happens:
- Their comments on your videos or pictures will be deleted. Undoing this doesn’t restore their comments.
- You can still see their comments on public Instagram accounts’ posts.
- They can still tag you on Instagram, but it won’t show on your feed or notify you.
- If you change your username, they can’t tag you except they know your new username.
- You can still read their messages on DM, but you can’t send message to them and vice versa. Undoing blocking won’t restore message they try to send you and vice versa.
- If you’re on the same group, Instagram will ask whether you want to keep being in the group. If you choose to keep, you will still see their message in the group chat.
Bonus: How to Block on Instagram PC/Web
You may think that blocking someone on Instagram PC can’t be possible. Well, it is possible.
Just open their Instagram profile. Now click the meatballs menu.
Click Block this user.
Now, confirm blocking by clicking Block.
How to Block Someone on Instagram Story (Prevent Them from Seeing Your Story)
If you don’t want someone seeing your Instagram story, you can just block them from seeing it, without having to fully block them using the first previous method.
Instagram provide this feature to protect your privacy, without having to remove them as your follower or even block them. You can still allow them to see your feed and posts, sending you DM, and any interactions other than seeing your Instagram story.
This is nice solution for most people.
To do this, just open the profile you want to block Instagram story from. Tap the kebab button, then tap Hide You Story.
Confirm blocking someone on Instagram story by tapping Hide.
After blocking someone from seeing your story, you can still view their Instagram story.
How to Block Someone from Seeing Your Posts Only
Instagram mainly doesn’t allow you to prevent someone from seeing your post, except if you fully block them using the first method in this tutorial.
However, that can be a dilemma if you want to let them to still see your story and sending you DM.
But, there’s another solution: make your account private then remove them as followers.
Open your Instagram profile. Tap the hamburger button at the top. Tap Settings at the bottom.
Now, tap Privacy. Tap Account Privacy.
Now, switch to private account by setting the toggle on (gray means you’re still public account).
Now, let’s remove them as follower. Open your Instagram profile. Tap the followers list. Select Remove at the right side of account you want to remove as follower.
Instagram asks you to confirm, tap Remove to remove Instagram followers.
From now on, they can’t see your Instagram post anymore. They have to follow you and wait for your approval if they want to see your posts.
RELATED POST: How to Post Someone Else’s Story on Instagram
How to Block Someone Without Unfollowing Them on Instagram
There’s huge advantage when it comes to using Instagram. You can block someone without unfollowing them. In other words: you can block without actually “blocking”.
To do this, open their Instagram profile. Now, tap the kebab button. Tap Restrict.
Instagram will show a message that the account have been restricted. This means they can still send you message, but in Message Requests, and interacting with you without unfollow them.
What Does This Do:
- They can’t see when you’re online on Instagram.
- They can’t know for sure whether you’ve read them message or not.
- They can send you message, but in Message Requests.
- Their comments on your posts are moderated. This means their comments on your posts are only visible to you and them, not your other followers, except if you agree to show their comment.
How to Block Instagram Direct Message Only So They Can’t Send You Message Anymore
You can block Instagram direct messages but restricting account, the same method above. Restricting account doesn’t mean you won’t see their message anymore, but you can hied their message in Message Requests.
If you want to fully prevent them from sending you message, you have to block them using the first method.
To restrict, open their profile. Tap kebab button. Tap Restrict.
Now, the account has been restricted. Their messages will be in Message Requests.
How to Block Someone from Commenting on Your Posts in Instagram
Instagram amazingly provide its own feature to block comment from specific users. This is really useful if the person you want to block always comment something inappropriate on your posts.
You can block comments on Instagram very easily. To do this, open your Instagram profile. Tap the hamburger button. Tap Settings.
Now, in the search box, type comment. Tap the result. Then, finally tap Block Comments From.
In the search box, search for someone you want to ban their comments on your posts.
To block comments, just tap Block.
How to Block Instagram Followers and Remove Them
You can block Instagram followers and remove them easily. This can’t be done in bulk. You can’t block followers all at once. There’s no app for this. You’ve to do this manually for each follower.
To block follower, just tap your follower list. Tap the profile you want to block.
Now, tap the kebab button. Tap Block.
Confirm blocking by tapping Block. Tap OK.
Now, let’s remove them as your follow. Tap your follower list. Tap Remove at the right side of profile you want to remove as follower. Tap Remove to confirm.
How to Block Your Own Instagram Account Permanently or Temporarily
You’re allowed to block your account very easily in Instagram. There are two ways on this: temporarily and permanently.
If you want to block your own account temporarily, go to Instagram website on your browser and login with your account.
Go to your profile. Tap Edit Profile. Scroll down, then tap Temporarily Disable My Account.
Instagram will then ask you the reason and to enter your password. Once done, tap Temporarily disable my account.
You can always get back your account by relogin to your Instagram app.
Here’s how to block your account permanently:
Go to this page. Select the reason. Enter your password. Then tap Permanently delete my account.
Instagram allows you to block someone very easily, in many different ways. You can fully block them, block without unfollowing them, block story, block DM, and more.
RELATED POST: How to Link Instagram to Facebook Page