Messenger, a messaging tool owned by Facebook sometimes confuses its users, especially when the user encounters a message saying “This person is unavailable on Messenger”. Here’s how to fix it.
Messenger and other messaging apps provide a way to inform you that you can or can’t message the other person.
But this error message appears after you sent messages to the recipient, leaving you to wonder, is the recipient leaving Messenger?
Messenger shows this message while blocking your ability to send messages to the recipient. This message literally says the person isn’t on Messenger anymore, while this is true, this isn’t the only meaning.
In essence, when someone deletes their Messenger or Facebook account, you’re going to see a “This person is unavailable on Messenger” message.
This message exists and will be gone once the recipient changes their mind and start using Messenger again. At this point, you can’t contact the recipient or even share-screen with them.
There are other meanings as well: you’re blocking the recipient or you’re being blocked by the recipient. If you don’t think you’re blocking the recipient, chances are you’re the one who is being blocked.
RELATED: How to Delete a Messenger Group Chat
How to know whether you get blocked on Messenger
To check whether you’re the one who is blocked (and whether you blocked them), simply click the Information icon at the top beside his Messenger’s account name.
Here, you’re going to see the Block button. If you see this button, you didn’t block them. If you see this button says “Unblock”, then you’re blocking the recipient. Simply tap Unblock to unblock the recipient.
But, what if you’re the one who is being blocked? You can know that by tapping the Profile button above the Block/Unblock button like the picture above.
It will open a Facebook page. You will see this message if you’re being blocked (or the person deleted their Facebook account).
Content not found.
The page you requested cannot be displayed at the moment. It may be temporarily unavailable, the link you clicked on may be broken or expired, or you may not have permission to view this page.
While that message could mean two things (you’re being blocked or the recipient’s account is deleted), you can make sure whether you’re blocked by using your friend’s Facebook account to go to that recipient’s Facebook profile.
If your friend can visit the recipient’s Facebook profile, you’re clearly being blocked.
Messenger has a message saying the recipient isn’t available on the platform anymore, which could mean more things. Fortunately, there’s a way for you to know whether you have been blocked by someone on Messenger.
RELATED: What Telegram Checkmarks Mean